My War On Skirts ( and other tall girl problems)

Some of you may not know this; but I’m tall. Bare foot I measure 6’1. I’ve been tall most of my life and I stopped growing 6 years ago ( 6’1 at 14 was not an awesome high school experience). and if you tuned into my getting rid of clothes post, you’ll notice that I mentioned owning dresses and skirts even though I hate them. So I thought, today I’d focus on explaining the love hate relationship with skirts and dresses. Plus throw in some tall girl troubles for us to laugh at.

mfDILiOI won’t lie to you: I think dresses are super cute. the only problem is, most of the cute dresses and skirts I bring home, aren’t made for someone as tall as I am. I can see my calves in maxi skirts, and my underwear would be on full view if I stepped out of the house in the skater dresses I’ve bought. It just doesn’t work…. As much as I wish that those super cute skirts worked for me, for now I’ll stick to capris and palazzo pants this summer.

Dtja5lV4

Now for the fun part. I get to talk about all my tall girl problems. This in no way means I’m not comfortable with who I am. I love my height just as much as I love my curly hair. But with everything comes a little bit of struggle. 🙂

afd1e86669be2b0c099bf1c55a6d30f0d94aa775e16911c21bb478523fe05ec9

I’m pretty sure I’m half legs, and while the hair is slow growing, every week I’m in the shower 15 extra minutes shaving. I’m not being dramatic either. If I have to detangle AND shave in the same shower trip I will use all the hot water, and then continue for a little while in the cold.

8F7Ptnk

I know there isn’t anything saying tall girls can’t wear heels ( I mean, except for all those people who should shut their yaps). But after years of being told I’m too tall to wear heels, I’d probably break my neck wearing them.

                                                        Even More Tall Girl Problem

  1. I’m longer than my bed
  2. people make that “how’s the weather up there?” joke.
  3. My knees touch the top of any desk I sit at
  4.  I have to special order my pants ( hello 33 in. inseam).
  5. You can see my wrists in long sleeve shirts and jackets

 

So how about you guys? Do you struggle with tall or short girl problems? Comment below and tell me what height struggles you experience.

Until Next Time,

-KmQuirky

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “My War On Skirts ( and other tall girl problems)

  1. Hi. Loved this post.

    I’ll share some of my tall girl problems.

    Please feel free to share suggestions for solutions to any of these things. They will be appreciated.

    I am 6’1 with a 36 inseam and weigh between 160-165lbs. I feel I’m always ducking my head around chandeliers, banging my knees on the underside of tables, clipping my fingers on ceiling fans, or stacking pillows on low seating.

    Everything in my life that has a “fit” gives me trouble and requires a degree of creativity to adapt myself to them or them to me. My bed is elevated. I took me 4 months to find a recliner that was not made for a ‘big and tall’ person, but did have a long leg rest.

    Even with clothing, I buy short dresses as tunics to go over tights/ leggings/ pants (which cost more due to long inseam) and I buy long maxi dresses to wear as skirts. Sleeves hate me; I wear mostly sleeveless tops. The three jackets I own–that do fit my long arms–have been in my wardrobe for over 10 years. All my gloves must be fingerless. And heels…I love heels. I have over 20 pairs that I rarely get to wear.

    And if all else fails, I get it custom made.

    Like

    1. Danielle,
      Interestingly enough, I am working on a post for tonight all about finding clothes that fit your body well without spending too much money. Hopefully you’ll be able to read it and it helps you. If not you can always email me at quirkyworkymama@gmail.com and we can talk in depth. Thank you for reading, I really do appreciate it.
      -KmQuirky

      Like

Leave a Reply

